Enabling change in our Society, Environment and Economy (SEE)

2015 Parliament of Youth on Sustainability

162 students from 24 ACT schools presented and debated their proposals for action to tackle climate change at the Parliament of Youth on Sustainability at the ANU on Monday 1 June 2015.

Elected student Ministers with MLAs Simon Corbell, Nicole Lawder and Shane Rattenbury

Elected student Ministers with MLAs Simon Corbell, Nicole Lawder and Shane Rattenbury

Watch the Parliament Vox Pops video.
Check the Parliament photo collage.
Read the Parliament White Paper.

Student teams presented a total of 43 proposals in committee sessions. Of these, 11 proposals were selected to advance to the full Parliament session where elected student Ministers announced them to the other students and ACT politicians, Simon Corbell, Shane Rattenbury and Nicole Lawder. After a question and answer session, students then voted for the final six proposals for inclusion in the Parliament White Paper and presentation to the ACT Legislative Assembly. The White Paper was tabled in the ACT Legislative Assembly on 15 September 2015 – read the Hansard transcript

The White Paper comprises work from student Green Papers (seeĀ K-Y3, Y4-Y6, Y7-Y9 and Y10-Y12) and posters prepared for the Parliament, as well as postcards created by students on the day.

PoY Students in full Parliament 1

Full Parliament session

Congratulations to the students elected as Ministers, the students who developed the final 11 proposals, and to all students and teachers who took part in the Parliament.

Check the program: Parliament members, committees and program.

Newsletters for 2015 Parliament of Youth on Sustainability

PoY Student presenting

Presenting in committee

PoY Committee session - students presenting

Students presenting in committee

PoY Meet the Minister session 1

Meet the Minister session

PoY Students presenting

Presenting in the full Parliament session













Back to Parliament of Youth page.

With thanks to our


  • ACT Government Environment and Planning
  • The Association of Independent Schools of the ACT (AISACT)
  • Catholic Education Office (Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn)
  • Education and Training Directorate
  • ACT Government